An election is held in the State of West Virginia each even numbered year. A Presidential Election is held every four years. Polling places open at 6:30 AM and close at 7:30 PM. Voters should report to their assigned precinct to vote. If you are unsure as to where you are supposed to vote, please contact our office or visit The Secretary of States Website.


The County Clerk's Office has many duties and responsibilities when conducting an election.

Some of these duties are:

  • Conducting and supervising voter registration
  • Conduct candidate fillings
  • Accept candidate financial report filings
  • Prepare and proof the official ballot
  • Testing Voting Machines
  • Training of Pollworkers
  • Secure polling places
  • Supervise activities at the Central Counting Center
  • Assist with the canvass


Voter and Candidate Resource Center

The May 10, 2016 Primary Election Voter and Candidate Resource Center is a compilation of all information pertinent to both the Voter and Candidates.  To visit the Election Center, please click here.

Voting System

Monroe County uses the iVotronic Touch Screen Voting Machines for Early Voting and on Election Day. Paper ballots are used for absentee by mail voting. If your organization would like to see a demonstration of the touch screen voting machines, please contact our office.

Magisterial Districts

Monroe county is divided into three Magisterial Districts; the Western, Eastern and Central districts. A Couny Commissioner is elected from the district from which he or she resides in on a rotating basis. Magisterial District boundaries are determined by population and are reviewed each year after the United States Census is conducted. Districts are required to be close in population. If after the census is conducted and it is determined that the population in one magisterial district is greater than another district, the County Commission is required to redraw the magisterial district boundary lines to make the population of each district as equal as possible.

Voting Precincts

Monroe County presently has eighteen (18) voting precincts. Voters are assigned to a precinct based on where they reside. A map outlining the voting precinct boundary lines is posted in the County Clerk's Office and is available for review. Click here for a list of the voting precincts. The list contains the precinct number, precinct name, and the location of the precinct and which magisterial district the precinct is located in.  To see a map of the voting precincts located in the county, please click here.

Early Voting

Early Voting takes place for ten (10) days before an eletion up until three (3) days before the election. Early Voting is conducted at the lower level of the 911 Center directly behind the Courthouse, and at the Peterstown Town Hall during normal business hours of the County Clerk's Office. These hours are 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays, and from 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM on Saturdays. See election calender for specific dates (to be posted at a later date).

Election Forms

For a complete listing of Election Forms please see our Candidate Information